Policing Possibilities – Instagram Shorts

Posted on September 23, 2014

3


reykjavik-police-logreglan-instagram-iceland-20

This particular photo series is done on an application (which I’m sure many of you are familiar with by now) named ‘Instagram’ where the user can apply filters instantly to their freshly taken photographs and have them uploaded within seconds to an entire social network. Reykjavik’s police force have been having a bit of fun, showing their local community that it’s not all entirely serious work through the power of Instagram.

reykjavik-police-logreglan-instagram-iceland-1

I particularly love this short series, mainly because for me it relates to one of my own experiences with the Police. It was early February 2013 and my partner and I had just come back from a photo shoot at a MMA live cage fight, it was around midnight and we hadn’t eaten for most the day, so before retiring to bed we headed over to KFC for a bite and at the front of the shop were a handful of mischievous looking teens. As I made my order and waited to collect it, the teenagers left, only to have two police officers come in shortly after.

reykjavik-police-logreglan-instagram-iceland-2

I’ve alway kept a clean record for myself, so for me to be grabbed and told by police that I shouldn’t be exposing my backside and pressing it up against the front window of KFC was a real shock. Not exactly being the most confident guy, I wasn’t able to explain myself properly before being told to ‘Shut up’ because ‘they knew it was me’… My faith in the local police force that day disappeared, I felt disgusted by how I was being treated for not having done a thing! Although I still hold respect for what they do, my faith in them and their quick-to-judge attitude have diminished. Afterwards I sent a complaint to the office, which was only ignored…

reykjavik-police-logreglan-instagram-iceland-12

This series for me restores some of that lost faith, to see that they can engage with the community as ordinary people that have a good sense of humour. It’s just a shame that I don’t tend to see this first hand a lot today. I’m not sure about you, but personally I’d love to see a network like the one Reykjavik’s police force have done so that we as a community can feel more connected to our local policeman as opposed to divided against them.

Posted in: University Work