Real Estate Photography – Tom Coghill

Posted on March 26, 2013

0


About a year and a half ago my landlord required my photographic services. He wanted me to photograph his numerous properties. Now I had never done or even considered doing real estate before and so I had sought advice on the type of equipment I should use and how I should light a room. My university lecturers had advised me to use a wide angle len’s but to use it correctly so that it does not distort the actual dimensions of the room and to use a speedlight for portability and control over the balance of both natural and controlled lighting.

DSC_0012

So with this advice I got a Nikon D90, SP800 Speedlight, 18 – 28mm Len’s and a Tripod and I have to the equipment had done the job. The challenge I had faced was the lighting, ensuring that I had the exposure from the window not blanked out and also accounting for the lighting of the walls from the room. So to work with this I had accounted my cameras settings for the exposures from the window and used the speedlight to fill in the darkness from the room. All of this was in 2010.

DSC_0178

Since then my landlord has kept my handy and working hard photographing his properties frequently whenever he updates them. From this I have developed a nice real estate based portfolio for myself which you can see on my website. The most recent work I have done for my landlord was in 2012 and for this I had used a Nikon D800, SP800 Speedlight, Manfrotto Tripod and a Wide Angle Lens

As is

To see some real estate from my website , click here:

http://www.tomcoghillphotography.com/469803-2012-work

To see my work being used on my landlords website, click here:

http://studentaccommodationplymouth.net

