‘Pop-Up Shop’ Exhibition – Tom Coghill

Posted on February 21, 2013

0


In November 2012 I did my first real event shoot for fellow Plymouth College of Art students, Charlotte Wood, Sian Dabner & Jess Thornton. They hosted an exhibition in which a wide variety of students within different mediums may hand in their work to be exhibited within the town center of Plymouth. I thought this was a fantastic idea to develop public awareness of the College’s skills and abilities of the students within it and so I also decided to take part and even feature my own work too. They named the event, ‘Pop-Up Shop’As isCharlotte had approached me asking for my involvement in the exhibitions opening and even the setting up of it so that they could use it within advertisement for the event so I spent the day with them equipped with a Nikon D700, 50mm Lens, 24mm Lens and Speedlight. The evening went fantastically with a great turn out of people nibbling, drinking and socializing with the students about their work and even gained feedback on my own pieces too!As isI generally feel that I benefited greatly from this event, meeting new people and connecting more with the public as well as expanding my own portfolio within event photography.

Here’s a link to the event facebook page:

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Pop-Up-Plymouth/244962402278666

Here’s a link to my website of a few snaps of the night:

http://www.tomcoghillphotography.com/

