EXHIBITION – Jem Southam

Posted on October 16, 2012

3


I went to a exhibition today to see the truly enticing and inspirational works of Jem Southam, a Lecturer at the University of Plymouth. Looking at his photography his works use both the medium & large format camera  masterfully. Arranging his composition and formal elements so wonderfully, in using these formats he has made the photos so detailed that just by standing in front of them you get the notion of really being there as he shot it.

Jem Southam is definatly an inspiration for my own photography and most certainly relevant for my current project based on looking at the narrative of landscapes. I wish to get in touch with Jem Southam to see if he could give me any tips or advice on how to establish work such as his own.

