INTERVIEW – Lori Nix

Posted on April 15, 2012

0


Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to answer these questions

Why did you prefer creating your own made scenery’s as opposed to photographing a real one?

“When I was in undergraduate school, I was the photo editor of the college newspaper. I found out pretty quickly that I was a horrible photo journalist. I was never aware of my surroundings and events unfolding in front of me. I’m kind of a shy person, so wedding photography wasn’t for me either (plus I’m really not into weddings). I’m also a homebody, so travel photography was definitely out. I simply prefer to stay home and make my own worlds. Even today, I’m not as present in the real world as I should be. I’m usually lost in my own head, thinking about whatever project I have going on in the studio at the moment.”

You talk of witnessing natural disaster being an influence towards your work, did this natural occurrences ever effect your own personal life?

“Yes. I grew up the middle of the United States, a place that is really known for it’s wheat and corn crops and extreme weather. I’ve experienced tornados, floods, blizzards, extreme weather and seasonal insect infestations such as grasshoppers, June bugs, wooly worms and the like. When I was a teenager, a tornado came through my neighborhood wreaking havoc. It was pretty exciting.”

How do you come about new ideas and project for yourself?

“I’m greatly influenced by my everyday experiences. There is always weird things happening around me that I sometimes tune in to. Also, living in New York City has exposed me to a lot of fascinating architecture, especially interiors, that I want to recreate in my studio. I read the newspaper daily, which get’s my imagination moving. But honestly, most of my ideas come to me during my morning subway commute to work. Something about being squished among strangers, forced to create my personal space inside my head gives me an opportunity to sink inside myself and go off to lala land. As my friend and fellow artist Charles Kanwishcher stated about him and I, “we are coinsures of boredom”. “

What tips would you have for finding clients to work with and getting your portfolio recognised?

“First off, and the most difficult to do, is establish your own personal style. If you have a style that is unique and separates your from your peers, then you’re already miles ahead. Secondly, you need a good website that shows off you work. Don’t make it too flashy, unless you a designer and trying to sell your design style. And lastly, if you have the opportunity to put your portfolio in front of professionals with a face to face meeting, then by all means do it. In the past I have invested in myself by attending portfolio reviews and paying for professionals to look at my work for twenty minutes. I was targeting a fine art market, but there are also portfolio review events for commercial photographers where you can meet art directors, industry professionals and other creatives. These are expensive, but also a necessary tool to get ahead.”

What other mediums of art interest you & have you done any other work with different mediums?

“I’m greatly influenced by painting, especially classical and genre painting such as the Hudson River School painters. I look to painting to study composition and how to control my framing and spatial considerations.

I just finished fabricating models for a web based video project called “The Story of Sushi”.  http://vimeo.com/36994466  It was fun project and well suited to my style of working. I worked with three other artists and we had enough chemistry between us that we decided to start a production company to create socially driven web content and video. Our web site is www.fourstorytreehouse.com if you want to check us out.”

How do you manage your time between personal and commissioned work?

“I don’t manage it was well as I could. I actually have a day job as a color printer at a commercial color lab. I print large mural prints for other artists. I work on my personal work at nights and on the weekends and any days I can get off from the lab. It’s a pretty good relationship because they will let me have long periods of time off for commercial work, and even longer time off if I’m getting ready for an exhibition and need to finish work for the show.  I get about three commercial/commission jobs a year, which is the perfect amount. Any more and I wouldn’t be creating my own work and I’d be perpetually grumpy. All this work, plus the production company can’t be complete without my partner Kathleen. She’s also an artist and fabricator and plays an integral part to the creation of my models.”

Any last words for university students such as myself?

“Absolutely. First and foremost be nice. You never know when and where you’re going to meet that person that can and will further your career along. Therefore, never be an asshole in public. Secondly, form alliances. It’s much easier when your creating work collaboratively. Get your brother, sister, partner, husband or wife to help you whenever possible. Without my partner Kathleen, I wouldn’t be where I am today. And lastly, take as many video, animation, Photoshop classes as you can. The future of photography, especially if you want to make a living at it, is to create interesting content for the iPad and the web. Advertising, entertainment, and commerce will all happen on our smart devices. The more adaptable you are, the more employable you will be. And hopefully we all will be gainfully employed in the arts.”

–           Interview hosted by Tom Coghill, Administrator of ‘Cogtography’

© 2012 T.Coghill Photography All Rights Reserved

I found Lori Nix whilst looking for a source of small scaled and beautifully deatiled inspiration, more so for my own interest and future reference but I love how the compositions and lighting incredibly highlight the features and formal elemtns of the scenaries. I even thought myself that these composed by hand sets were real-life, full-scaled photographs due to how brilliantly they are represented and ultimatly this isnpires me to compose a full scaled scene just as creativly as Lori Nix has done so with the small scale scenes.

For more of a look click here:

http://www.lorinix.net/index.html

© Lori Nix All Rights Reserved

Posted in: Interviews